The Hippogryph Files

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

to what end …?

HEY, NEIGHBOURS...

LOGO

In the dark and dim days of 1994, while browsing in Forbidden Planet, I discovered a strange set of cartoons entitled ‘The Hippogryph Files’. Printed on 12 outsize postcards (and including two business cards and a sticker),  they were a series of black and white tales of extraordinarily strange and terrible things. There was a quiet, slightly ‘off’ and undramatic air to them that made them all the more frightening.

BEAR

They had an immediate and profound effect on me.

The artist’s name appeared nowhere, as far as I could see, but there was an address on the packaging and for some reason I decided to write him or her a letter.

HANG

I’d never done this kind of thing before and about the only thing I knew was that I didn’t want to write a simple fan latter. So I wrote a sort of fictional letter as if from someone who…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

